Chevy and GMC Duramax Diesel Forum banner
  • Hey Everyone! Enter your ride HERE to be a part of this months Ride of the Month Challenge!
1 - 20 of 27 Posts

·
Registered
10 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I have a 2009 LMM, DPF delete running Edge cts tuner. These mods were done when I purchased the truck and while looking through the gauges on the Edge tuner it says that I'm getting 1 - 3 psi boost. I'm new to the diesel world as well as to turbos but that seems really low.

When idling the exhaust changes tones some times to sounding like a jet engine, to a nice low exhaust rumble. Does this have anything to do with the turbo? I'm lost here any ideas?

·
Registered
7,442 Posts
I have a 2009 LMM, DPF delete running Edge cts tuner. These mods were done when I purchased the truck and while looking through the gauges on the Edge tuner it says that I'm getting 1 - 3 psi boost. I'm new to the diesel world as well as to turbos but that seems really low.

When idling the exhaust changes tones some times to sounding like a jet engine, to a nice low exhaust rumble. Does this have anything to do with the turbo? I'm lost here any ideas?
Is the 1 - 3 at idle if so that's normal.
Max when your on it should be around 26-32 depending on what hp tune your running.
The exhaust changes tones is also normal, it's the turbo vanes opening and closing :thumb

·
Goin broke in style.
656 Posts
I see no boost at idle. Mines an LLY so idk if theres any sort of a difference. Also i have the "rumble idle" from ATP which has no hissing at idle by moving the vanes, dont know if that affects it too. Id like to add..if you were only seeing 1-3 pounds while accelerating it would be so obvious you wouldnt have to post on here lol.
Firt pic is idling
Second pic is cruising on flat highway at 60

Attachments

·
Registered
397 Posts

The jet sound and hissing is due to the turbo vanes changing position. Its possible to tune the moving so that a more rumble idle is achieved.