Chevy and GMC Duramax Diesel Forum banner
  • Hey Everyone! Enter your ride HERE to be a part of this months Ride of the Month Challenge!

1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Sorry this is gonna be a long post but im only 20 so i dont have alot of money to play with and i'd hate to mess anything up in this process so i need all the information and advice i can get. Im confident i can do it since i have lots of experience working on stuff just not turbos I gotta change my turbo in my truck and i have finally decided that im just gonna do it myself. First off, does anyone know what all that i'll need to do the job. I wanna get everything i need before i start like gaskets and anything else. I bought a used stock ihi turbo on here a couple months ago and its seems good to me. Then i got a turbo rebuild kit from a company called spturboost on ebay for $60. I havnt pulled apart the turbo or anything yet cause im not sure what to do with it exactly but i just figured id rebuild it before i put it in the truck that way i wont have to worry again about it. I also figured id put a batmowheel in too while i have the turbo sitting there so if anyone knows anything about this your help would be really appreciated. Then i need to know what all i'll get into pulling the old turbo out and putting my new one back in. Anything anyone can tell will be very appreciated.

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Also my truck is an 2001 lb7. Has about 280k on it

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·