Chevy and GMC Duramax Diesel Forum banner

1 - 20 of 62 Posts

·
Registered
71 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I have seen quite a few posts on this forum about the infamous GM steering column noise, but none of them seem to help me. I have a '07.5 GMC 3/4ton CC Duramax that is all stock except for the wheels and tires (20in rims, 305 50R20 tires). There is a clunking noise in the steering column. I'm not mechanically minded so dealer does all fixes for me. I have had ISS replaced, idler/pitman arms replaced, shocks were worn out so they have been replaced as well, lower and upper bearings checked and they are fine. The torsion bars are turned up but not all the way (at least 5/8'' gap). No other changes have been made to suspension. Any ideas what else could be the source of the noise? Any ideas would be greatly appreciated. This annoying little problem is about to bankrupt me!

P.S. I am a newbie. This is a great Forum, have really enjoyed reading through all the posts.

·
Registered
71 Posts
Discussion Starter #4 (Edited)
Yep, had it checked at a dealer I trust this afternoon. He said it(lower steering column bearing) was fine. He said there were a lot of parts they could throw in but he just wasn't sure where the noise was coming from.

Thanks for the welcome! I wish it was still under warranty. I've put 59k on her already.

·
Registered
2,073 Posts
Tell them the whole Intermediate steering shaft, Its a known problem, your sure its coming from the steering column? have you checked the hubs?

edit: sorry its late i missed the ISS

·
VAGITARIAN :)
7,336 Posts
Welcome to the forum,fill out your sig and more guys may help out..........