Chevy and GMC Duramax Diesel Forum banner

1 - 20 of 30 Posts

·
Registered
25 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I'm new to the diesel world so please bear with me.

I know cold weather additives are added to fuel in the Winter months that is purchased at fuel stations, but if I am at hunting camp for two weeks and it gets down to -10 Fahrenheit or below should I also carry an additive to make sure the fuel doesn't gel or for any other reason? :confused:

I guess I need to know in general is what, if any, fuel additives should I carry and possibly need to use under what conditions?

I know it's a rookie questions, but would appreciate some expert advice! :eek:

Thanks...Mark

·
Administrator
8,815 Posts
Power Service or Stanadyne. Put it in your tank before you fill. Dont wait for it to gel to put the stuff in there. Carry an extra fuel filter. In most cases -10F will not gel fuel that is properly treated. I have seen -56F using stanadyne in my tank and had no problems gelling. I did change my secondary fuel filter in the winter and I had ice in there, but nothing in my factory one. My aftermarket one has a water separator in it too.

BTW :welcome to the forum!

·
Registered
25 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Thanks for the info. That helps a bunch. So it appears you added a secondary aftermarket fuel filter. Would you recommend that? I like the idea of carrying an extra fuel filter.

Thanks again...Mark

·
Registered
669 Posts
power service in the white bottle to prevent from gelling. if your fuel does manage to gel up then use a bottle of diesel 911 to remove all the water then put the white bottle in. with the 911 it helps to take your filter off and put a 50/50 mix of clean diesel and the 911. with all of this you should be safe. :welcome to the forum

·
Administrator
8,815 Posts
Thanks for the info. That helps a bunch. So it appears you added a secondary aftermarket fuel filter. Would you recommend that? I like the idea of carrying an extra fuel filter.