Chevy and GMC Duramax Diesel Forum banner

1 - 20 of 31 Posts

·
Registered
Joined
·
26 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Ok, so I bought this truck almost 2 weeks ago and now have the efilive to go with it. I dont have the stock tune or the tunes that he bought (says he bought them from Idahoe Rob). Truck has DPF delete and DSP2 switch. I keep getting the brake and abs light come on and check trailer brake on dic, I can clear all codes and drive it for awhile and they come back on after about a half an hour or so. The codes im getting in the efilive v2 is p2033 and p0546. any help would be great.
 

·
Received a Hummer
Joined
·
9,627 Posts
EDIT:... Ok I mis-read...sorry... you have an 07.5.. But on that note you sure it's a DSP2 and not a DSP5? And does it currently have tuning loaded onto?? If it was purchased from Rob and it's his tuning, you should contact him...pretty sure he'll help you out. Those codes seem to be EGR/DPF related.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
2,383 Posts
You have the EFI for it but you don't have the tunes? Sry I don't understand.
 

·
Im Superrrrr!
Joined
·
14,517 Posts
You have the EFI for it but you don't have the tunes? Sry I don't understand.
Sounds like he bought the truck and it already had a tune loaded in it, he just didn't receive a copy of it.

Ummm...there's lots wrong from what I'm reading.. Frist off...if you own an 06...there is NO DPF at all...they just don't have them. Also...you should have a DSP5, not DSP2.... and was EFI live previously installed? Or not? If it wasn't installed you would need to pull your stock tune and send it to Rob... ???
Why can't he have a DSP2?

to the OP:

You can pull the new tune off and save it, or get ahold of Dustin (Sickdiesel), provide him with your VIN. If it truly has Robs tuning in it, he will be able to provide you the stock and the new one.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
26 Posts
Discussion Starter #5
jmaz268, you are correct. the guy i bought the truck from says he didnt think the dsp2 switch worked either. I am a noob to this and am still trying to figure out the efilive v2. Until then I cannot confirm or deny this, the tunes are loaded in I just dont have the copies of them. I will try to contact Dustin and verify, Thanks
 

·
Im Superrrrr!
Joined
·
14,517 Posts
You can verify the switch is working by using the V2 and a laptop.

Connect to vehicle and select the DSP tune and/or DSP voltage. Then start logging and switch the switch, should note a change in the voltage/position.

I don't recall the proper voltage now for the DSP2, but look in the EFI live help section under the install PDF and its in there.
 

·
Received a Hummer
Joined
·
9,627 Posts
Why can't he have a DSP2?

The first time I read his post I completely mis-understood it and was being an idiot... I Edited it :) I was looking at his sig. and saw 06, etc.. :help
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
781 Posts
I bet the speed limiter/tire size calibrations are off thats why you are getting ABS and brake lights......
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
6,193 Posts
are you sure there was/is tunes in the truck?

reason im asking is because you're not sure if the switch is working...(if there's no tunes loaded then you wouldnt notice anything when you tried to switch between tunes)

you have the dpf deleted (if there was no tunes, that would cause the codes you're getting because you do not have a dpf)

if there is no tunes then your tires/speedo isnt calibrated thus, causing the lights to come on....
 

·
Banned
Joined
·
2,605 Posts
Yup. If the speedo is calibrated wrong it will mess with your ABS. For example, if you have 35" tires, you may need to input 34.5 inch tires.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
781 Posts
really? I didn't know what:help
Yes sir, I was playing with an LMM that was lifted on 38's and when I put that tire size in it had abs and service brake messages on the dash, I was told that EFI couldn't calibrate bigger than a 35" tire?? But I set his calabrations back to the 35" tire and I remember not being able to max out the speed limiter so I just set it to like 130mph fast enough with an 11" lift and 38's :rof
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
2,383 Posts
Yup. If the speedo is calibrated wrong it will mess with your ABS. For example, if you have 35" tires, you may need to input 34.5 inch tires.
Yes sir, I was playing with an LMM that was lifted on 38's and when I put that tire size in it had abs and service brake messages on the dash, I was told that EFI couldn't calibrate bigger than a 35" tire?? But I set his calabrations back to the 35" tire and I remember not being able to max out the speed limiter so I just set it to like 130mph fast enough with an 11" lift and 38's :rof
O ok cool :thumb learn something everyday
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
26 Posts
Discussion Starter #15
ok so i finally got the efilive connected to my truck in the scan tool and got all the pid's set and yes the dps2 switch is working. The guy i bought the truck from is supposed to be emailing me the tunes he has. However when i try to download the current tune in the tune tool I cant connect to the ecm, but i can in the tcm and download it. Am I missing something here? The truck is running stock size tires, but cant get to the tune to check and see if thats what it is or not....
 

·
Im Superrrrr!
Joined
·
14,517 Posts
Might try and do updates in EFI, then restart computer.

If one is working (TCM), then you should be able to pull the ECM.

Unless the tune is locked, and as far as I know Rob doesnt lock his.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
26 Posts
Discussion Starter #17
Updates are already done, pc restarted. Wouldnt connect before and figured out thats what it was. Everything else works but when it gets to it initializing the ecm fails every time
 

·
Im Superrrrr!
Joined
·
14,517 Posts
Whats the reason for failure? Should say in the console part
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
26 Posts
Discussion Starter #19
Here is the complete log

16:29:25.302: Scanning for EFILive FlashScan V2 HAPI
16:29:25.329: Autodetect interface ...
16:29:25.493: Interface firmware version: 2.7.22
16:29:25.500: Connection to [FSV2] interface is OK
16:29:25.521: CAN-VPW Bridge Activated
16:29:25.592: Current protocol set to: "ISO 15765 CAN"
16:29:25.606: Autodetect ECM...
16:29:25.646: Connection to ECM is OK
16:29:25.669: Current protocol: "ISO 15765 CAN"
16:29:25.890: USB driver version: 4.0.0
16:29:25.900: USB library version: 3.1.18
16:29:25.922: Interface firmware model: FSV2
16:29:25.941: Interface firmware model: FSV2
16:29:25.962: Interface firmware version: 2.7.22
16:29:25.983: Interface firmware date: Aug 23, 2011
16:29:26.002: FlashScan serial number: 003836039583
16:29:26.023: FlashScan license number: 003836039583
16:29:26.276: Getting status...
16:29:26.504: Status: OK.
16:29:30.688: Disconnecting ...
16:29:31.261: CAN-VPW Bridge Deactivated
16:29:31.271: Disconnected
16:29:31.880: Scanning for EFILive FlashScan V2 HAPI
16:29:31.904: Autodetect interface ...
16:29:32.160: Interface firmware version: 2.7.22
16:29:32.172: Connection to [FSV2] interface is OK
16:29:32.399: USB driver version: 4.0.0
16:29:32.413: USB library version: 3.1.18
16:29:32.433: Interface firmware model: FSV2
16:29:32.453: Interface firmware model: FSV2
16:29:32.477: Interface firmware version: 2.7.22
16:29:32.501: Interface firmware date: Aug 23, 2011
16:29:32.527: FlashScan serial number: 003836039583
16:29:32.550: FlashScan license number: 003836039583
16:29:32.572: Disconnecting ...
16:29:33.134: CAN-VPW Bridge Deactivated
16:29:33.148: Disconnected
16:29:33.750: Scanning for EFILive FlashScan V2 HAPI
16:29:33.772: Autodetect interface ...
16:29:34.023: Interface firmware version: 2.7.22
16:29:34.031: Connection to [FSV2] interface is OK
16:29:34.053: CAN-VPW Bridge Activated
16:29:34.124: Current protocol set to: "ISO 15765 CAN"
16:29:34.138: Autodetect ECM...
16:29:34.172: Connection to ECM is OK
16:29:34.198: Current protocol: "ISO 15765 CAN"
16:29:34.417: USB driver version: 4.0.0
16:29:34.429: USB library version: 3.1.18
16:29:34.453: Interface firmware model: FSV2
16:29:34.477: Interface firmware model: FSV2
16:29:34.498: Interface firmware version: 2.7.22
16:29:34.519: Interface firmware date: Aug 23, 2011
16:29:34.542: FlashScan serial number: 003836039583
16:29:34.566: FlashScan license number: 003836039583
16:29:34.814: Getting status...
16:29:35.051: Status: OK.
16:29:35.070: Request VIN...
16:29:35.754: VIN: 1GCJK33627F553742
16:29:36.579: Preparing ECM for reading flash...
16:29:36.611: ECM seed is: $8EDB
16:29:36.622: Unlock attempt 1 of 1
16:29:36.752: Initializing ECM...
16:29:38.066: Error: Failed. Controller has returned to normal operation, please retry the operation.
16:29:38.672: Total time: 00:00
16:29:38.686: Rebooting ECM... (please wait up to 8 seconds)
16:29:39.822: ECM has booted successfully...
16:29:40.831: Clear emisison related DTCs...
16:29:40.856: Clear DTCs for all modules...
16:29:42.919: Autodetect interface ...
16:29:43.168: Interface firmware version: 2.7.22
16:29:43.177: Connection to [FSV2] interface is OK
16:29:43.190: Autodetect ECM...
16:29:43.213: Connection to ECM is OK
16:29:44.507: Disconnecting ...
16:29:45.084: CAN-VPW Bridge Deactivated
16:29:45.097: Disconnected
16:29:50.570: Done!
 

·
Diesel Junky
Joined
·
1,109 Posts
Yup. If the speedo is calibrated wrong it will mess with your ABS. For example, if you have 35" tires, you may need to input 34.5 inch tires.
hey justin, did you also know that the edge's can only calibrate a 35 and smaller, will throw the lights everytime. Crazy computers
 
1 - 20 of 31 Posts
Top