Chevy and GMC Duramax Diesel Forum banner

1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
14 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello, I've been a member for a few years but rarely have I posted because i usually find an answer before I need to....

I'm a technically proficient backyard mechanic and have worked on my vehicles for years. I have a 2009 LMM with 228,000km on it that I've owned for 5 years and approximately 10,000km per year (was purchased from the 1st owner who drove it to 190,000km mostly highway). Thus far, have never had a problem with the DPF or the EGR, other than having triggered a check engine light two years ago for the EGR sensor which was reset and went away after immediately giving it a run on the highway for an hour. It's never been in limp mode and is primarily used for our holiday trailer or on the highway with little city driving otherwise. Aside from some oil and air filter changes, front suspension parts, shocks, brakes, batteries and driveline fluids, I haven't had to replace anything in the engine bay. Ever.

I know some day i'm likely to experience problems with the DPF and EGR. I've been reading continually here and elsewhere on doing these deletes. I've found myself reading so much that I'm a little confused on the following...

I am considering doing the deletes of the DPF and EGR as a somewhat preventative action before I run into any future problems. I would want to use EFI live and tune toward reliability and fuel economy rather than high power. I would like to put a 4" exhaust on it. I would like to do a cold air intake, an EGR delete/Y-bridge pipe system, the LB7 up-pipe, a new downpipe.

1. If I am "making it breathe better" like this, do I need to be concerned about the stock exhaust manifolds or the driver side up pipe as well?
2. Am i generating enough new horsepower or torque that I need to be thinking about headgaskets and studs?