Chevy and GMC Duramax Diesel Forum banner

1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I want to get up-to-date about this subject. I am a son of a mechanic that owns a 2008 Chevrolet Duramax and we are just starting to scratch the surface of the regen system in these trucks, Ford and Dodge too. So far we had learned that in a simplified version of the regen cycle, the truck will throw raw fuel into exhaust to heat up and burn off any unused fuel soot and particulates, note this only happens when EGT's don't get high enough through normal usage to do the job, so fuel is introduced. Now up until recently we were cursing the tree huggers and saving our four letter vocabularies for the whole system. But these feelings are more directed at the big three.