Chevy and GMC Duramax Diesel Forum banner

1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
175 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Newbie here - 6 weeks into a '19 2500 that will be towing an 8K trailer. Just trying to be prepared.

So let's say you are towing your trailer down the interstate, go around a curve, and traffic is at a dead stop as far as you can see. No exits in sight and as we all know these waits are rarely short.

Just as you roll to a stop, you get the message "Continue Driving to complete regen" or whatever it says. I've read that it might disable the truck if you shut it off at this point, and you can't continue driving for a good while.

Do you shut it off, do you put it in neutral and rev up to 2000 rpm's until it's finished? How do you handle that situation??

·
Registered
148 Posts
If you are in an active regen while driving, it will remain in regen at idle or continue where it left off if you shut it down until all soot is burned off in the DPF. While towing, you are also generating elevated exhaust temperatures which aids in burning off this soot.

In the three years that I've had my truck, I've never seen the "continue driving" message ever come on.

You will experience multiple regens in your future. You will know as the idle speed will be elevated. I feel it the most at stop lights as it requires a little more brake pressure to hold her back (plus I have a CTS that monitors soot grams and Regen Status). I don't believe the CTS can monitor soot grams in the '17's or above...I believe it's soot percentage).

I don't think this will be a concern for you...the bigger concern will be sitting in traffic for long periods of time. That sucks...

Reactions: jdwarren

·
Registered
31 Posts
Been driving DPF trucks since 2010.

Still haven't seen a 'keep driving' message.

As EJCarter says most won't ever see that message.

Stop overthinking it and enjoy the truck.