Chevy and GMC Duramax Diesel Forum banner
  • Hey Everyone! Enter your ride HERE to be a part of this months Ride of the Month Challenge!
1 - 20 of 25 Posts

·
Registered
9 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hey guys.

I'll make this quick and simple. I have a 2008 LMM on an 8 inch lift. I blew my factory driveshaft out a couple months ago so I took it in and got a custom one made longer. The new one has a loud ticking noise whenever I start from a stop. Everything is tight, ujoints are brand new. Buddy said it was normal, just wanted some other opinions or how I can quiet or stop it. It's only ticks two or three times when I start or let off the throttle but it does get annoying.

Thanks.

·
Registered
3,640 Posts
Did you pull the differential cover to inspect the gears?

·
Registered
3,640 Posts
Any metal in the transfer case fluid?

·
Registered
3,640 Posts
Not that I know of, but I am no expert. Did you grease the U-joints or did you install the sealed joints? What about the slip yoke? Plenty of grease in there?

·
Registered
4 Posts
Yes ujoints can be too tight but if you can move them with your hand they should be good. Jack up rear tires one side at a time and spin wheel over in neutral to help find what side it is coming from. If it comes from one side and not the other Remove the wheel and brakes from that side and do it a gain to narrow down what is making the noise. Do you use the parking brake? My guess is when you remove the brake rotor youll find that the parking brake pads are no longer attached to the shoes and are floating around the drum. Quick and easy to check. Good Luck!

·
Registered
260 Posts
Is it a Aluminum Drive shaft? Also if you put in drive does it click as well as when you accelerate from a stop?

·
Registered
577 Posts