Chevy and GMC Duramax Diesel Forum banner

1 - 20 of 42 Posts

·
Registered
524 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hey guys I'm fairly new to the diesel world and wondering why there is an issue running red fuel. I have some at my disposal.and was wondering what the risks are. I assumed it was the same fuel just red so no big deal but it sounds like there might be more to it then I think?

·
Registered
146 Posts
It can be a pretty hefty fine depending on where you live and how strict they are. I dont think it would be worth it. Its just untaxed off road fuel. Most place around here wont even let you pump it unless you are a farmer or drive a city or state truck.

·
Registered
1,335 Posts
In Oregon it's a $10,000 fine if caught.

·
Registered
1,265 Posts
It's the same fuel you normally get, just dyed red and tax-free. If you get caught running it on the road, you will face very hefty fines...and I mean like buy-a-nice-used-diesel-truck kind of fines. I don't even run it when I am at the ranch because I am scared the dye will still be in my tank if I ever get checked driving down the highway. Technically, my use is legal, but try explaining that to a State Trooper.

·
Registered
361 Posts
Same fuel just dyed and huge fine if u get caught running it

·
Registered
1,176 Posts
Yes, in alot of places if you get caught running it you are in deep trouble. I saw a built-ish cummins (built the same way most cummins guys build their stuff...w/o common sense). Anyways he was running red fuel and melted four out of six pistons. truck sat at the dealer for six months. Dealer notified whoever they notify, and owner had a HUGE fine on top of a new motor to pay for.

Also, I do believe red fuel runs hotter then normal fuel, but I am not an authority on the topic.

·
Registered
16 Posts