Chevy and GMC Duramax Diesel Forum banner

1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hey everyone,

Im new to the duramax world and tryin to learn the best I can here. I have a 2007 GMC Single Cab LBZ and it keeps popping an EGR code, Naturally you would fix the parts (BTW im in cali) but I was looking into doing an EGR block off plate and was curious as to if I needed to tune the truck after I had done that. The truck isnt hauling anything right now but a Jet boat (so basically nothing) and after that I was looking at adding in a "Finger Stick" to get the engine light to go out. The truck is 100% bone stock and has never had a programmer on it.

·
Registered
325 Posts
Hey everyone,

Im new to the duramax world and tryin to learn the best I can here. I have a 2007 GMC Single Cab LBZ and it keeps popping an EGR code, Naturally you would fix the parts (BTW im in cali) but I was looking into doing an EGR block off plate and was curious as to if I needed to tune the truck after I had done that. The truck isnt hauling anything right now but a Jet boat (so basically nothing) and after that I was looking at adding in a "Finger Stick" to get the engine light to go out. The truck is 100% bone stock and has never had a programmer on it.
If you do a blocker plate , a finger stick will shut the light off . Or you can just get efi live tuning and have the egr shut off that way . Not too sure about California laws. I have a never used finger stick for an lbz if you want it . $30 plus shipping

·
LHN...We ARE the Joneses
26,485 Posts
Chances are, inserting a $10 block plate won't set a hard code engine light. Some LBZ's do, some don't. My '7 doesn't.

I would just install a plate and see what's up. cheap, not permanent. either it does or it doesn't. Either way, it won't affect performance or driving with it on or not.

·
Registered
6,662 Posts