Chevy and GMC Duramax Diesel Forum banner
  • Hey Everyone! Enter your ride HERE to be a part of this months Ride of the Month Challenge!
1 - 20 of 107 Posts

·
King of Battle
854 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 · (Edited)
Been seeing a lot of questions regarding EGR’s and after doing research I have come to learn a lot about them. I am by no means an expert on them, just wanted to share what I have learned in hope that questions about the EGR will be answered in one spot. I’ve gathered pictures from around the forum and the Google machine, if there’s any issues with the pictures I’ve used let me know and I will remove them. Also I am not pushing one brand or the other nor am I reviewing them, I’m just explaining the different options that are offered.

First off…What is an EGR valve? The Exhaust Gas Recirculation Valve’s purpose is to recirculate exhaust back into the intake manifold to displace oxygen and lower combustion temperature resulting in less NOx production and better emissions. It also introduces harmful contaminates from the exhaust back into you oil.
“Oils exposed to the EGR environment show an increase in soot content, acid number (AN) and viscosity, while the engine and oil are both exposed to corrosive/acidic gases and particle buildup.” (EGR Systems and Lubricating Oil in Diesel Engines)

EGR in a nutshell:

Why you should get rid of it:

Now…How do you get rid of it??