Chevy and GMC Duramax Diesel Forum banner
  • Hey Everyone! Vote for the Site Favourite ROTM winner for the year of 2021 HERE!
1 - 20 of 40 Posts

·
Registered
24 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 · (Edited)
08 LMM. How important to have EGT probe? I'm about to go with Edge race CTS and turbo back exhaust. Is stock truck have EGT probe? And what is the differance between "expendeble and nonexpendeble" EGT probe? Thanks

·
saw what you did there
14,297 Posts
yes you need A EGT probe.

the EAS (expandable) probe will allow you to "daisychain" other probes together. Like a turbo timer, water/meth information. (these other probes will be available soon)

·
Oh...... Squirrel!
24,083 Posts

·
Registered
686 Posts
yes EGT's are the most important thing to watch , when getting on it ..

·
Registered
405 Posts
ha ha brian what no speedo watchin with that high hp quick truck:rof

·
Registered
66 Posts
Yes the stock truck has an EGT probe. 2 of them.
Killerbee, I am new to Duramaxes and have learned a lot from reading info That you have provided, thanks! Now a lot of threads recently, you have posted vague answeres to questions like the one above. Could please expand on the post above? So there are 2 probs on a stock truck, can we get any info from them? What do the stock sensors provide info to? What are your thoughts on aftermarket egt probs? Are these stock probs on all Duramax models? I think these are some of the questions that I and the original poster would like to know. Thanks!

·
Registered
895 Posts
The Edge CTS will take an EGT reading off of the two stock probes we have in our trucks but due to the location of the said probes neither of which are in the mainfold you will not get an accurate reading of the temps. This is why it is suggested to do the aftermarket one.

·
Registered
66 Posts
Thanks for the more detailed answere. Just curious as to what the stock probes are for if the reading is not accurate? Are they for emissions?

Thanks

·
Registered
895 Posts