·
Registered
30 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
My 07 classic is mostly stock with the following exceptions:
Hypertech Max Energy Programer
285/70/16 tires
Edge Insight Guage - installed last week

I have a toy hauler trailer that weighs in at 6800 dry and fully loaded this weekend I figured I was right around 11000lbs.

The issue is that hypertech claims I can run level 3 (90/180) and not worry about damage. However, the Edge is telling me a different story. I noticed the egt's would quickly hit 1350 on a grades and I really had to back out and play around with rpm etc to keep it cool. On level 2 it appears I am safe with most of the temps running under 1300. On flat ground and minor grades level 3 seems to give the biggest bang for the buck, better pulling capability, and better fuel economy. Temps seem OK, but I am new to diesel pickups.

What if anything can I do to use level 3 and still run under the 1350 limit? Is 1350 the danger zone for the diesel/turbo? Am I being silly trying to run level 3 and should stick with level 2? I am sure this basic stuff to most of you but it is new to me. Thank you for your time.

·
Registered
12,050 Posts
you should delete the cat off your truck. that should drop the egt's
AND i would not tow on a 90 hp tune

·
Registered
30 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Is level 2 safe. I think is 50/120? I assume the cat delete is something I can get a kit for and need to do it myself. Will I need to trick the computer with a program or something? Also, will I be able to pass emissions? We are not excempt here with 3/4 ton trucks.

·
Registered
12,050 Posts
Is level 2 safe. I think is 50/120? I assume the cat delete is something I can get a kit for and need to do it myself. Will I need to trick the computer with a program or something? Also, will I be able to pass emissions? We are not excempt here with 3/4 ton trucks.