Chevy and GMC Duramax Diesel Forum banner
  • Hey Everyone! Enter your ride HERE to be a part of this months Ride of the Month Challenge!
1 - 12 of 12 Posts

Registered
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I'm pretty new to diesels having bought my first with this 2015 GMC D/A.
I changed the oil in it when I bought it because it was black at 11,700 miles on it. I used Amsoil Full Synthetic 15W-40 Diesel oil.
Now, after 3,000 miles its black again, and nearly a quart is gone.

Two questions:

- Is this a normal consumption rate, do diesels consume more oil than gas engines?
- Do diesels contaminate their oil more than gas engines or do I have an exhaust leak somehow getting into the oil?

Premium Member
Yes you can the black oil to the wonderful application of EGR. The black color is common. What is not common, is a qt low at 3k. Are you sure you drained completely and filled with 10qts of oil during your change?

Reactions: 407driver

Registered
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Yea, sure did. i also installed a top of the line Royal Purple oil filter for maximum filtration.

The engine is still bone stock for now.

Premium Member
The black color is normal, the quart low isn't. In the 10 years I've owned my 2004 LLY I've never had to add any oil between changes. I've only ever used Rotella dino, last change I switched to Delo but have never had to add any oil after 5000 miles. I tow heavy a lot, so truck works pretty hard.

Registered
I changed the oil in it when I bought it because it was black at 11,700 miles on it. I used Amsoil Full Synthetic 15W-40 Diesel oil.

Two questions:

- Is this a normal consumption rate, do diesels consume more oil than gas engines?
- Do diesels contaminate their oil more than gas engines or do I have an exhaust leak somehow getting into the oil?
How long are you letting it sit before checking the level?

Overnight?

Reactions: TeamOGF

Registered

Two questions: