Chevy and GMC Duramax Diesel Forum banner

1 - 20 of 40 Posts

·
Registered
24 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I own a 08 GMC, and for the last year I've had a strong exhaust smell in the truck when the truck is sitting at idle. Usually when I've pulled up to a stop light, or after the truck has warmed up. I've taken it to multiple dealers and they can't find anything wrong with the truck.
My fuel mileage has been around 13 mpg.
Have any of you guys had this problem?

PDQUICK

·
Registered
12,050 Posts
i swear that there was a thing on this from the dealership something with V band clamp or something on downpipe??

·
Slave to the Interwebs
9,952 Posts
It is on the downpipe. Check the v band clamp.

This was posted by a member who is a tech at a large GM Dealership. His name will remain anonymous. As he almost lost his job because of the post

To start I am a technician
We are the states largest volume dealership in the past few months.

I have heard lots of people complaining about their lmms and fuel mileage. Many more people have complained that after they got the ecm reflashed their mileage went way down.

As far as the regeneration goes I wanted to get some things straight. Things that I never new about the regeneration process.

The MAXIMUM amount of fuel that regeneration uses is 3 gallons per event. NOT 6 Gallons like some have stated.

The regeneration no matter what you tow or how you drive your truck on average comes on every 360-400 miles. The dpf soot is still calculated by the ecm, and how much fuel is used, how long you idle the engine all determines the actual regen events. Their is no warning that your truck is going into regeneration unless it hasn’t been able to meet the regeneration requirements.
(I.E) Your not driving fast enough 30mph to meet the criteria.