Chevy and GMC Duramax Diesel Forum banner

1 - 20 of 46 Posts

·
Registered
17 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Howdy all,
im new to the duramax community and have just recently purchased my first one. its an 05 GMC 3/4 ton 4x4 LLY. As of now i have the stock 3.5" tubing and have cut out the cat and muffler. Im looking to upgrade to a real aftermarket exhaust system and honestly have no clue what to go after.

Things to keep in mind:
- price < $500
- size does not matter
- in cab noise/drone
- single passenger side exit

Any info or suggestions would be greatly appreciated. I look forward to hearing your thoughts and stories

·
Registered
2,538 Posts
4"- MBRP straight from any dealer/vendor here
5"- husker diesel economy kit -best price out there for 5" and great guys to work with

sound will be a tad deeper with the 5", no performance gains over 4" piping

·
Registered
897 Posts
4"- MBRP straight from any dealer/vendor here
5"- husker diesel economy kit -best price out there for 5" and great guys to work with

sound will be a tad deeper with the 5", no performance gains over 4" piping
What he said. I would find out which one is cheapest, and go that way. Pipe is pipe. I have an MBRP 5" but I would have a Husker if it was available when I bought mine.

·
Registered
17 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
I've read other posts and comments about 5" being unbearable in the cab. Is there any truth to that

·
Premium Member
2,516 Posts
I've read other posts and comments about 5" being unbearable in the cab. Is there any truth to that
I don't think you'll find any side exit exhaust unbearable. If you just want something cheap but nice, Get a 4" MBRP. Lots of the vendors here carry them:thumb

·
I STILL DGAF
9,061 Posts
Cheap and MBRP don't belong in the same sentence. WTF are you guys on?!

Diamond Eye or Flo Pro are pretty much the cheapest kits you can get and the vendors carry them as well in 4" or 5".