Chevy and GMC Duramax Diesel Forum banner

1 - 20 of 43 Posts

·
Registered
74 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
A couple of things,
if you are not an Experienced Diesel Technician PLEASE DO NOT respond to this thread I need real help, I sorry if this offends you.

If you are using an Acronym please do so like this eg; FICM (Fuel injection control module) I'm not a mechanic and do not know what most of them are reffering to.

Second I apologise for being so long winded.

The first time this happened was 2 years ago. Coming back from a golf trip. I was in a hurry and pushing the truck pretty hard about 95mph to 100mph. All of a sudden it fell on its face, started chugging and I couldn’t get more than 2000 rpm out of it. It went into limp mode, I guess. After pulling over and letting it sit for a few minutes it cleared up.

Last winter it happened again. This time it was a couple of things going on. I was out in Alberta and it got down to -30C. The truck wouldn’t start even after being plugged in overnight. It seemed like it wasn’t getting any fuel, (just cranking over and not firing) so I primed the fuel filter pump, and it fired right up.

Then on a fishing trip up into the mountains around here it happened again. It fell on its face and I couldn’t get any power when I stepped on the accelerator and couldn’t get more than 2000 rpm.

So I pulled over and primed the pump again, this seemed to clear it up. It happened several more times and each time it was around -15C. Thinking that the pump was losing prime because it was sucking in air, we changed the o-rings on the pump, again this seemed to do the trick.

I have learnt that it needs a new glow plug module. (the second part of the problem)

Last week like a fool I ran out of fuel. After putting some fuel in the truck and priming the pump it fired up. I took it down and fuelled it up.