Chevy and GMC Duramax Diesel Forum banner

1 - 3 of 3 Posts

·
Registered
310 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Some of you like myself, may already know that factory gauges may not always be super accurate. I’ve been a GM tech for 24 years and I can tell you that it seems the newer trucks (say K2 and T1’s) are much more accurate than say anything from the 90’s and early 2000’s. For proof, I have a few pictures of my 2006 from this morning.

Now, keep in mind that dmax thermostats are both open right around 185 degrees. While I have previously cleaned out my dirty cooling stack and I have replaced both of my t-stats just because of age/mileage, my temp gauge can move like the tach and oil pressure gauge will sometimes. Honestly, a lot of vehicles that I’ve owned or worked on in this era seems to have similar issues and I’ve found the same issue every time. For some reason, the ipc is just not capable of accurately depicting what the ecm is telling it.

So, during this test I initially started the truck cold and while it was idling/warming up, I saw the gauge start to move off the bottom/160 mark when the ect (engine coolant temp) sensor was only reading 113 degrees. By the time the coolant got to 160 degrees, the gauge was reading 185 (middle mark between 160 and 210). From 160 until what you see here, this is as far as the gauge moved.

And here is the live data from the scan tool...

So I cranked the engine speed up and found the gauge to get to the point that I normally see it at, while driving at speed on the road, even when towing the wife’s 7500lb camper.

And once again, the scan tool data to match this gauge reading. Well, match, may be a strong word for this...