Chevy and GMC Duramax Diesel Forum banner

1 - 11 of 11 Posts

Registered
Discussion Starter #1
Im sorry if this is the wrong section im a newb, so i can take some ragging on. Looking to buy my first diesel, i have an 04 Z71 extended cab right now, wife suggested we get a crew cab with the baby coming so i convinced her to let me get a diesel which ive been wanting but could never afford. I found some 05's and 06's i really like just cant decide which motor is better. I know diesels last forever from the motor standpoint its just hard to convince myself to spend around 20 on something with 100k on it. Duramax's are hard to find in my area (eastern NC) im stationed at MCAS New River in Jacksonville, NC. The ones i am finding are 05's and 06's with around 100k miles and pretty good options inside, they are priced from 19k to 24k. Just wondering if those are good prices and what i should be looking for when looking the vehicle over before buying. Im curious on what i should be feeling and listening for when test driving also. Im really good with gassers so im not completely incompetent on vehicles just very new to diesels and dont want to waste money on a "piece". Thank you in advance for any advice.

Registered
Welcome to the forum

- Adam

Registered
I bought my 06 with 107k on it about 5 months ago for $23,999. So i'm guessing those prices are pretty average for the mileage. Welcome to the board and enjoy :drink

Registered
Discussion Starter #5
Sounds good thanks, ive found a few around 20k just cant decide so im gonna go take a look at them this weekend. Whats a good exhaust setup? I like loud but just something with a little more bite than stock that passes all emission crap.

Registered
Welcome to the forum

Registered
Welcome to the forum! i have the 4in mbrp, cant beat the price! im happy with it, there are many good vendors on here that will help you out with all your needs.
--Casey

Registered
Discussion Starter #8