Chevy and GMC Duramax Diesel Forum banner
  • Hey Everyone! Enter your ride HERE to be a part of this months Ride of the Month Challenge!

1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I have an 08 GMC 2500 sbcc Z71. The truck currently is completely stock as far as power mods go. Im coming out of 04 F350 with the 6.0 and that thing was straight piped and tuned and sounded amazing. Im new to the turbo swap market and just wanted to get some feedback from some veterans on here. I want to keep my truck to "daily driver" standards but Im lookin for a good turbo and tune to give me that RELIABLE power with that real turbo sound. I dont drag or sledpull or anything, just the occasional towing of large boats and a lead foot around town. Can anybody tell some information on the Cheeta or even the "baby" Cheeta? Sound? power? reliability?.......anything helps!

·
saw what you did there
14,297 Posts

·
NewEST Spinny Thinggg
4,291 Posts
you'll need that for sound/power...but to use the power you'll need alot more

·
Administrator
16,852 Posts
Another option to consider would be compound turbos / twin turbos.

Each one has advantages and disadvantages depending what exactly you're looking for.

Just figured I'd throw it out there in case you hadn't thought about it as an option.

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter · #6 ·
Thanks for the feedback! What advantages does the 4094 have over the Cheetah? Also, would i be able to get by with just a turbo, mild tune? of course im gonna straight pipe this motor as well. Or will i need to fuel and tranny upgrades as well. I hear the Allison is pretty tough.

·
Registered
2,056 Posts
the allison is amazing as long as u dont go roughly 90hp over stock, which means u wouldnt be able to get most of the power out of ur turbo upgrade imo u can kill the allison tranny with the stock turbo and a hot tune

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter · #8 ·