Chevy and GMC Duramax Diesel Forum banner

1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Registered
414 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
I just bought a 04 4x4 duramax, I am new to these trucks, the passenger frt tire is cupped on the inside. You can see that the tire has some slight camber to it, what does it sound to you guys? I was thinking of doing the control arm bushings it looks like I can get a kit for uppers and lowers from autozone for about 65 bucks? Any help would be appreciated. Truck has 91K miles w/ leveling kit and 305's.

Thanks Jesse

·
Administrator
8,815 Posts
hmmm have you tried to get the alignment checked? Most of the time they will tell you what you need to change. Maybe the last person didnt have it aligned after they cranked the torsions???

BTW, :welcome to the forum!!

·
Registered
760 Posts
Did seller possibly keep other tires and swap an old pair and then sell? If not then probably torsion bar issue.

·
Registered
414 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
Nope, def the tires that were on it, it just looks like there is too much camber to be just an alignment issue, I guess I will start with getting the alignment checked, i just have a problem trusting those people, just hoping i dont have to replace all the busings and ball joints just yet.

·
Administrator
8,815 Posts
how many miles on the truck? Chances are with the bigger tires you will probably need to change ball joints. If the torsions are cranked all the way and the alignment was never done...it would make it look the way you are describing. Also if they are cranked too far, you wont be able to be all the way within specs...that is why cognito made the UCAs for our truck..also to correct the ball joint angles....
You have any pics of your ball joint angles? and from the front of your truck?

·
Registered
414 Posts
Discussion Starter #6
I will get some pictures up tomorrow. I appreciate the help guys, and the quick responses.

·
Registered
414 Posts
Discussion Starter #7

·
Administrator
8,815 Posts