Chevy and GMC Duramax Diesel Forum banner
  • Hey Everyone! Enter your ride HERE to be a part of this months Ride of the Month Challenge!
1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
1 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello everyone. Newbie here. I am in search of an LBZ 2006-2007 one ton dually. My questions are;

1-what kind of fwy mpg does the 2wd and the 4wd get on the average completely stock and unloaded

2-if i added a tuner only for mpg gain, how much would I gain approx?

Thank you in advance....

·
Registered
37 Posts
ive got a 2wd cc shortbed non dually completely stock and get 17.1ish on the cluster display... 18.5-19 when i calculate mileage to fuel filled each tank. not sure why they are different. not much highway driving mostly city

·
Premium Member
26,484 Posts
Empty 70-80mph hwy....15-16 maybe, 14 more realistic. That's actual....DIC will/can lie @17-18.
not sure why they are different.
Doing a run on a regular basis, West -> East, then load a low profile skid/crate with 2-3k lbs for the return, East -> West. Maybe 50ft difference in elevation from one end to the other, predominate winds from the South, so no head/tail winds involved. Same cruise control speed set.

Now here's the stickler;
Loaded with an increase in mass of 2-3k lbs, it gets better MPG than running empty. 'dunno;

Why?
The only difference is, the truck squats a bit and the fender wells (scoops) have less open space.

Big hips, they grab some wind.

Proven theory that rear fender skirts could make a comeback.....if fuel was $5/gal, then the fuel savings would be worth the cost.

But, there's always that '40s Merc cool factor. marx

·
Registered
181 Posts
Strictly highway with few stops:
Empty - 19.7 - 20 @ 75 mph
Pulling 7000 lb airstream 14.8 - 15.0. @ 65mph

Around town is a whole different ball game.. 12.5 - 14. Stoplights and idling kill the mileage.

·
Premium Member
3,420 Posts
Strictly highway with few stops:
Empty - 19.7 - 20 @ 75 mph
Pulling 7000 lb airstream 14.8 - 15.0. @ 65mph