Chevy and GMC Duramax Diesel Forum banner

1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
11 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Gents,

Just bought a new 2010 2500HD Silverado (with the Duramax of course). I am new to the Diesel world and after months of research and reading several forums, I went with the Duramax and Allison combinations. Primarily going to use the truck for towing my boat and a fifth wheel camping trailer. I am looking at doing a couple of mods and had a few questions. After reading some of the posts I have decided on the S&B cold air intake.

First question:
What is the better choice the dry filter or the oiled filter on the S&B?
Second question:
What is a good after market exhaust that will increase fuel mileage and increase horsepower? And will I need someone else to install it? My wrench monkey skills are probably mediocre at best.

I eventually plan on chipping the truck (leaning toward EFI live), but I am concerned about the warranty. Any information would be helpful or if you can steer me to a good post on upgrades.

Thanks

·
saw what you did there
14,297 Posts
Any DPF back system is a waste of time, money, and will net you zero performance or power gains. It would be purely cosmetic.

I would highly suggest reading the forum for a few weeks, that will help you gain a foundation of basic understanding of what works, and what does not.

·
Registered
272 Posts
idk about the filter, but for exhaust id go with a MBRP exhaust. look in the after market mods section, also the EFI Live. dont be afraid to ask question, and Welcome to the DF!

·
saw what you did there
14,297 Posts
idk about the filter, but for exhaust id go with a MBRP exhaust. look in the after market mods section, also the EFI Live. dont be afraid to ask question, and Welcome to the DF!
He can't go with any exhaust unless he wants to remove his DPF, which will void his warranty....

·
like a Ninja
5,212 Posts