Chevy and GMC Duramax Diesel Forum banner

1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
159 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I read through these forums for the past week or so, I picked up my 08 duramax from a dealership here in town. It came exactly the way I wanted it, 6" lift, 35s... The works. I'm not new to anything automotive but I am new to diesels. Neither am I particularly worried about mileage, I just want to make sure I'm not abnormally far off on my economy.

As stated I have it lifted with 35s and the main thing that concerns me Is upon a fillup my DTE guage only reads 260 miles to empty. I average about 12.6mpg and drive very relaxed (under 1800rpm) damn near all day long. I guess my question is, does the DTE run off the memory of the previous drivers habits? Do I have a small fuel tank? Or at 12.6 mpg is that all im going to get?

If its either of the latter two I'm going to be purchasing a fuel tank for the bed, i can't imagine trying to make it to my cabin 5 hours away on 260 miles to empty, haha. Thanks in advance for your response guys!!

Brandon Erwin

Sent from my Autoguide iPhone app

·
Registered
159 Posts
Discussion Starter #2
Oh yeah, I also bought an edge evolution cts... Dealer Is cool, family actually. Just going to deprogram it in case, everything I have read has been good about this unit. I bought it strictly for the economy mode.

·
Registered
980 Posts
I get about 12 to 13 on mine a 6 inch and 35s in town and my dic shows about the same mileage on the tank as yours. Went on a road trip and was getting 16 with about 400 to the tank. I have a tuner also. Hope this helps

·
Registered
159 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
That definitely helps my gut! I was starting to think I may have bought into someones problem. Like I said I am not terrified of the mileage as I have a work truck so I only drive my duramax on my 4 off (rotating shift of 4 on 4 off).

With all that said, I couldn't be happier with this truck! I dont thinknill ever own another gas truck!

·