Chevy and GMC Duramax Diesel Forum banner
  • Hey Everyone! Enter your ride HERE to be a part of this months Ride of the Month Challenge!
1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
9 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hey all, new to the forums and still studying the Duramax engine/tranny. Do have a couple of questions, though. I was told that the Allison tranny can hold roughly 380hp b4 the stock torque converter starts to separate? True, or not even close? Also, who makes good turbo upgrade kits for the LLY 05? thats the model I'm looking at purchasing, so I'm trying to learn as much as I can so that when I do get it I can do alot of the work myself. Oh, and don't worry, I'm an experienced mechanic. :D

·
Administrator
8,815 Posts
Well, I haven't heard of anything about the stock converter coming apart. You will however, slip the converter or the clutches resulting the truck going into limp mode. Usually on a tranny that hasn't been beat on too much it will hold up to about 100 extra hp over stock. As far as upgrades for the turbo, I know aurora makes some good ones.

·
Registered
9 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Alright, just checking. My reason for wanting more power is because I will towing a pretty descent size 5th wheel and a trailer with 4 4wheelers behind it up some pretty steep grades.

·
Vendor
332 Posts
Being that you are towing heavy and that seems to be the reason you want to increase the turbo size, that changes things somewhat. You might look into a twin turbo setup. That will keep your EGT's in check, have NO lag and will simply by cool.

As for the trans, 100 hp over stock is a rule of thumb, good advice there.

Get a good multi plate billet cover converter, a Transgo Kit and a few other tweaks and you will be good, add some after market clutches for good measure and your on the way.

·
Diesel Addict
7,754 Posts