Chevy and GMC Duramax Diesel Forum banner
  • Hey Everyone! Enter your ride HERE to be a part of this months Ride of the Month Challenge!

1 - 5 of 5 Posts

·
Registered
57 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hey guys Im new at this whole thing so if these are dumb questions I apoligize. I just bought an 07 2500 duramax crew cab 4x4 and i had a few questions about it. First of all, warming up your car, now i live in california so its not to cold here in the morning, never below 40 or so, should i let the car warm up at all or just start it and drive, i know your supposed to take it easy the first couple of miles but what else do i need to know. Also when i shut it off i have heard to let it idle for about 30 seconds to cool down the turbo but then i hear idling is bad???also does 12mpg sound normal as an average with half being highway and other half just showing off around town? One more question, i want to get an exhaust but ive heard that taking the cat off voids warranty so i was just going to do cat back, does it still sound good and add some more power, what do you think? and does anyone else feel a vibration in the brake pedal from the engine when idling??? thanks for the input!

·
Registered
300 Posts
Let it run a minute or so before you take off

let it cool a minute or so when you turn it off

12mpg is lower than the average but the same as mine. plus its not broke in yet

exhaust sounds good straight pipes, cat voids the warrenty if you dont reinstall it before dealer trips, and i think the power gains are minimal when the kitty is off. (dont worry most of us are catless)

o yeah, welcome to the site

·
Diesel Addict
7,754 Posts