Chevy and GMC Duramax Diesel Forum banner

1 - 20 of 22 Posts

·
Registered
9 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Sorry for my first post being a callout for help, but I want to lean on the collective expertise here before I pull the trigger on a 2012 GMC 3500 DRW that I'm looking at. It's worth noting that I'm in Alaska, and the truck is in Arkansas, and I'm buying sight unseen. :surprise:

Here's all the pictures I have of the truck. And while I know there's only so much that you can see from a picture, it would really help me if you guys could help look for any problems... I'm new to the Duramax world (last diesels were a 6.5GM and a 12v Cummins a long time ago) and I could really use your input here. I can get them to take any additional pics, just let me know of what.

Attachments

·
Registered
9 Posts
Discussion Starter #2

Attachments

·
Registered
9 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
In the first pic, is that the oil pan above that cross member? And does it look bent to you guys?

Also in the first pic, next to the black pan and the lines, there's what looks to be a bushing of some sort... What is that? And does it look worn to y'all?

·
Registered
9,964 Posts
Black pan is oil pan, the one that says allison is the transmission pan. Mines dented in the same spot, it's normal.

·
Registered
7,816 Posts
The very first pic I see is the transmission oil pan. There is a dent...but it is supposed to be there. I'm not sure what bushings you are asking about....can you point a arrow to where your referring to?

Sent from my SM-G900V using Tapatalk

·
Registered
7,816 Posts
Ok..I reread your question...I noticed you said above the cross member my second time reading...lol
Yes that is the oil pan, there does seem to be a bend but I think it looks right,like it's formed for said crossmember.

·
Registered
9,964 Posts
Also I think the oil pan is "dented" there too, which is normal also. Not sure cause I can't see the oil pan the greatest in that picture

·
Registered
9,964 Posts