Chevy and GMC Duramax Diesel Forum banner

1 - 17 of 17 Posts

·
Registered
27 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I have a 2011 LML 134000 miles it has a PPEI 5stage tuner and is deleted. The truck has been great until I too it to our cabin. Coming home there is a few steep down grades and both time when I got to the bottom the truck started stumbling and puffing white smoke it took about 5 min running it to get it to clear out. I had to step on the throttle and raise the rpms up to 2500 before it cleared. I’m new to diesels so any advice would be great!

·
Registered
83 Posts
White smoke is coolant. Check your coolant level and also take the truck for a 15 minute hard run and see if the upper radiator hose is rock hard. If so it is head gasket time.

·
Registered
10,422 Posts
When checking the upper rad hose you want to get it up to temp be hard on it then let it sit for at least 5+ hours. If it's hard after that your keeping pressure in the system and 98% of the time headgaskets . If you take the degas cap off it shouldnt have any pressure left in it either. Can try replacing it before headgaskets as its 12 dollars compared to 1k to 4500

·
Registered
27 Posts
Discussion Starter #5
Well took it for a hard ride and the hose is pretty darn hard. I’ll see in 5 hrs what it’s like.

·
Registered
10,422 Posts
Hows it deleted? Full exhaust? Egr deleted also or just unplugged? Stock down pipe with 9th injector still installed? Pull intake and mouth piece is there oil inside?

·
Premium Member
4,694 Posts
Well after a few hrs the hose was soft no pressure so idk what’s going on
GOOD News, not head gaskets!

Is your coolant level dropping or staying the same, check it several mornings in a row when it is cold to see what it is doing. If necessary use a marker to mark the level the first time.