Chevy and GMC Duramax Diesel Forum banner

1 - 4 of 4 Posts

·
Registered
1 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Newbie here. Got a question that surely has been covered a bunch of times, but searching the posts didn't turn up what I was hunting for.

I've tried this on other forums and what I got in response were assertions, general "I'm fer it" or "I'm agin it" comments, but no serious explanations. I KNOW some here can 'splain this to me.

I'm asking because I have a chip for my '04 Duramax truck, and thought of getting one my '05 Duramax. I de-installed the chip software from the '04, but the chip wouldn't install on the '05 due to engine changes that year. Before buying a second one for the '05, I decided to try a test. A half dozen or so times I alternately installed and de-installed the chip software on the '04 and made a familiar 60 mi round trip to town and back with no load or trailer. I got the same mpg (just at 22) regardless.

Which got me to wondering. I can see how acceleration and maximum power could be varied according to software parameters, but I don't get it about mpg.

Consider the scenario driving steady 60 mpg in OD pulling 3K lb trailer. This is how 90% of my truck's miles get put on. If software settings can affect mpg in this steady-state situation and a chip has better values for the settings, then it would be worth it to to me. Otherwise not. I really only care about mpg in the engine's sweet spot rpm range. The truck has abundant power for me as it is.

On the old farm tractors I'm familiar with, the injection, ignition, and timing are purely mechanical. The pump charges the injector, the cylinder compresses the air, the injector sprays, and boom.

On these high tech diesels, what parts of the cycle that affect mpg are controlled by software values? Fuel charge (volume, pattern, timing)? Are the injectors electronically controlled? Solenoid driven? Something else?