Chevy and GMC Duramax Diesel Forum banner

1 - 20 of 207 Posts

·
Registered
79 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
I'm always looking at stuff and contemplating on whether or not I can do it, and if so can I do it better. I have serious rubbing issues with my tires on the front bumper, but I like my tires.......and not my bumper so I decided it had to go. I looked all over the web for ideas on a bumper I could fab, I really leaned towards a tubular bumper hard, I really like the look, but I don't have the cash for a good bender, and you don't realize how much crap your bumper hides until you take it off! So i decided I would try my hand at a Fab4 style bumper, minus the built in winch...........again because I don't have the money(for the record, its because I'm a full time college student....). Plus I think those look really bulky and front heavy. My goal was to make a solid, sleek bumper that has the angular design of the Fab4, but hugs the truck better, rather then looking like a set of double D's falling out of there hangers. It's not finished, but the pictures below show what I accomplished last Saturday.

Attachments

·
Registered
79 Posts
Discussion Starter #2
The rest of the pictures for now. The one with the green circles is where I plan on mounting the internal fogs. It will have 3-4 7" spots across the top in front of the grill, and two very large clevis hooks in the mid section.

After it was all together I numbered each part, then disassembled it. I designed each part in auto CAD today, and I will be running it through our automated plasma cutter at work hopefully later this week. If everything goes to plan I should be able to start assembling the final product this weekend. If that happens keep a look out, next week around this time you should start seeing more pictures.

..........That last picture is my new (temporary) bumper. The stock one was a pain to try and put on alone. Plus this one gets me WAY more looks.

Attachments

·
Registered