Chevy and GMC Duramax Diesel Forum banner

1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
42 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
hellow im new to this so this might be a stupid ????......... i just bought a 03 2500 with the lb7 and i was wondering what should be my first step in moding it i really like that loud whistle sound that some diesel trucks give out anything will help thanks

·
Premium Member
276 Posts
straight pipe the exhaust an dput an intake on... usually ur best bet in getting the turbo whine that it sounds like ur after

·
Premium Member
276 Posts
like 06duramax said intake, straight pipe

yeah i had a staright pipe on my 06 made it sound like an airplane haha but if u like that sound then go for it... just go to youtube and serch for staright pipe duramax to see if u like the sound before you invest.. just my 2 cents

·
Registered
42 Posts
Discussion Starter #5
thanks alot for all the feed back is there certain brands i should go for ???? i know im getting the ppe hot e+2 but im not sure in what exhaust to get in debating on a 4" or a 5" and if i go 4 rbp or mbpr so what do you guys think ?

·
Registered
142 Posts
Just an FYI, LB7's don't really get a loud whistle or whine with a stock turbo. I am still running the stock intake, but have a 5" exhaust. Other than getting a louder "growl", there wasn't much difference. The later engines with the variable vane turbos will give a completely different sound. I am sure with an after market intake the whistle will pick up some...but a different turbo would be the only way you will get that loud woosh, whine, or whistle that you are after.

·
Registered
42 Posts
Discussion Starter #7
what turbos will do that ?

·
Administrator
8,815 Posts