Chevy and GMC Duramax Diesel Forum banner
1 - 11 of 11 Posts

· Received a Hummer
10,715 Posts
I'm actually getting mine done shortly...and I was told that anything under a 680 resistor is not good to use... I guess it was tested by SuperBrightLeds and a 12V car battery has consistent jumps to 14.2 volts......they said anything smaller than a 680 can cause shorts, blowouts, smoke, high heat that could possibly melt plastic/rubber around switches, etc..

And I actually also talked to some other people and read on different forums the same thing...

· Received a Hummer
10,715 Posts
I got my blue 5mm 360 degree from superbriteleds.com and they have a resistor calculator. I punched in all the info and it said to use a 470 ohm resistor. I am no wizard on this stuff but I had 470 ohm on first and then switched to 330 ohm and they were much briter, I would think with a 680 on there they are not going to be that brite at all. I have read that it also depends on the manufacturer of the LED itself on what size of resistor should be used. Who knows, I guess time will only tell. Everyone will have to update there situations to see who's combinations last the longest and who's have failed. Good Luck to all!
I actually used the same Calc.....but the guy from phone support said to change the voltage from 12 to 14 because of spikes in power....when I had the 12 volt in, it told me 470 as well. Either way, I don't think you'll have issues....worse case is they burn out and you replace them.

· Received a Hummer
10,715 Posts