Chevy and GMC Duramax Diesel Forum banner

1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello all, I'm new to the duramax forum. I'll tell you right up front that I'm a Ford SuperDuty owner, so I don't know too much about the D-Max, but I'm not a troll and definatly not here to talk smack.

I am here to get the best advice possible for one of my buddies.

His truck is:

03 GMC with the LB7 Duramax.
180k miles
AFE Stage II CAI
4" turbo back exhaust
Street Performance PCM flash from an unknown manufacturer in Little Rock, Arkansas.

The truck has had the total crap run out of it since he bought it new, and has held up awesome, but at 180k his injectors are finally giving him fits.
He pulls about a 7k-lb trailer daily, and likes to cruise it on the weekends. He likes the extra power, but doesn't want to have to install gauges to monitor vitals. The flash he has is such a meager amount now that it really isn't required yet.

Now for the Q's:

What injectors should he go with?
Where is the best place to get them?
If he does this job himself, what else should he address while it's apart?

Thank you very much in advance for the advice!!

Zach

·
Premium Member
515 Posts
there are a ton of vendors that are selling injectors, try merchant automotive, or lincoln diesel

·
Administrator
8,815 Posts
as long as they are the bosch ones, they are good.

·
I'm That Guy...
16,694 Posts
Don't just buy the cheapest ones possible from Ebay or the internet, post up the company name here before purchasing. There are some companies you want to avoid and we'll let you know that if you post them up.

That said....

There is an updated design, but if you are buying injectors you will likely get them. You can get both reman and new injectors, they may be manufactured / assembled by someone else, but as mentioned you want a Bosch injector with a good warranty.