Chevy and GMC Duramax Diesel Forum banner

1 - 20 of 27 Posts

·
Registered
57 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hey guys been lurking around and searching through the forum and checking out people's posts about their duraburbs and have been able to answer some questions but still have a couple unanswered hope you guys can answer them.

Upfront I'm gonna say I'm still new to Duramax specifically but familiar with diesels. I use to own a F350 6.0 and wanting to switch over.

I'm torn as I wanted to go with the LMM or even LML motor for the higher power handling capabilities but I like the older body 2005-2006 Suburban and had seen some things hinting towards that do to protocols and communication issues between all modules this may not be able to be done? Is this true or is there some modification or something done to make the newer engine work in older truck?

Or to make it easier maybe cheaper can a LBZ motor be built internally to hold power reliably?

I seen talks about having to do a body lift? Is this true, if so can some please give details to how much and reasoning? Pretty sure I know why but just want to make sure and not assume anything.

Where are some good places to search for donor trucks and or engines/ trans?

Thank you in advance for any and all advice and input.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

·
Registered
27 Posts
Will try to answer some of your questions but I am no expert.

I had Duraburb build a suburban for me last fall. They did a great job and I am very happy with it.....Love it!

I think it's a great idea and you should continue to research and make it happen.

I originally wanted they body style you are talking about....but as time went on and I researched more and more time went on....I decided to go w the next gen body and the LMM. I am very happy I did so.