Chevy and GMC Duramax Diesel Forum banner

1 - 10 of 10 Posts

Registered
Discussion Starter #1
I want to get a new exhaust for my lbz but I won't be making big power for another year or so. I dont want to short myself and get a 4 inch cat back because I will want the turbo back eventually. Ive heard it can cause more lag in lower rpms. Is this true? Is there any other red flags with this?

Registered
Don't have an answer for you, but just earlier I stumbled on an old thread where a guy seemed to lose a little boost after doing a five inch straight pipe. That was the only post so I'm not sure what happened. Also saw one a while back where a guy had issues with boost or mpg's or something after putting in an aftermarket down pipe and went back to stock. I'm afraid I can't really help you otherwise. I'm new to this and been wondering pretty much the same thing.

Former GM Tech and parts
4in vs 5in will only change one thing-sound. There will be no performance difference between the two, and there should be no loss in performance by going from a stock exhaust to an aftermarket exhaust

Premium Member
5" might help keep EGTs down a few degrees and make more noise, but if you tow a lot you will probably get tired of the exhaust drone.

Reactions: ChevyTech77

Registered
Discussion Starter #5
4in vs 5in will only change one thing-sound. There will be no performance difference between the two, and there should be no loss in performance by going from a stock exhaust to an aftermarket exhaust
Is there a benefit between cat back and turbo back? From my knowledge turbo back is the way to go. But im no pro. Also I can't seem to find a 4inch turbo back which is what I really would like.

Registered
Discussion Starter #6
5" might help keep EGTs down a few degrees and make more noise, but if you tow a lot you will probably get tired of the exhaust drone.