Chevy and GMC Duramax Diesel Forum banner

1 - 1 of 1 Posts

·
Registered
1 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hey guys, hope everyone is doing well.

This is my first time posting and this is also my first diesel so I have a quite a few questions, not in a rush as I don't have the truck on the road but I don't like uncertainties so I thought I would post some questions to help ease my mind.

2002 gmc sierra 2500hd extended cab long box slt. Federal emissions truck.

I'll leave a short list, feel free to answer if you have time.

1. What is the average cranking time on a cold start? Usually 2-3 seconds for mine which doesn't seem bad.

2. I was reading somewhere that the glow plug/intake heater relays act as backup memory for the injector positions/rates as well as the ficm. Does that sound correct? And if so, what symptoms might I see if those relays are not working properly? The only code I have is P0380.

3. How long after an injector swap should it take for excess smoke to burn off? I get a light white/blue smoke after the truck reaches operating temperature but nothing when cold. The truck hasn't been driven yet and I can only let it idle until the previous owner is back in town to sign it over to me. It seems to be getting better the more I run it but don't feel it's good for the injector nozzles to only idle. I'm hoping the smoke is from excess fuel trapped in the exhaust and burning off when it gets hot enough.

4. Fuel line size, I was able to find the rubber fuel line size for the engine valley but was wondering if anyone would know what type/size of metal tubing from the tank to the motor for the feed and return. If I can find it and bend it myself for cheaper than buying pre-bent I would prefer that.

5. How do I check fuel rail pressure? I can get my balance rates and calculated fuel rate from my dashcommand app but not fuel rail pressure and I have tried multiple apps.