Chevy and GMC Duramax Diesel Forum banner

1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Timeless Perfection!
795 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I just got my 2005 Chevy 3500 Duramax Diesel w/ Allison home and well, I've read for hours and just would like some straight answers to put me in the right direction.

I've had Chevy's my entire live nothing else. I am a teacher and a farmer so I know how to fix and work on things. My dream truck was a dually and now I've got it. Can someone let me know what I've gotten into? I don't want my dream to become a nightmare. I've read about LLY and tuners and chips and exhaust and ice picks, etc.

I know nothing about an auto diesel, New Holland and Case IH yes, but not this truck.
1. What is a LLY and the other terms I need to know for my truck?
2. I tow a 4500 lb camper to Bristol from W.KY and we hit the mountains, which my 1500 didn't take too well. I did get 19mpg hwy and 14 towing out of it. What can I expect from my new truck?
3. I upgraded my 1500 with a Volant ram force air intake and a flow max along with duel exhaust, What do I need for this truck? Plain and simple please.
4. Is there anything I need to know about or be prepared for or special tools to keep onboard?

I wish to get more than the dash readout of 13.3 MPG. I don't wish to do any damage to the truck at the same time. Speed is not an issue only to pull the camper and a cattle trailer. History of the truck is the owner before me was loaded and had some sort of On Board Laptop to run things but he took all that off about a $7K value. The truck has 62,729 miles on it. I bought it from a Ford Dealership today and they couldn't even tell me about the warranty that was left on the truck. The original owner did leave the Banks Ram Air Intake and Box on it.

I've read about some upgrades voiding warranty, some screwing up the transmission, some not even working, but I have no idea where to start.
Thanks,
Teacher In need of SCHOOLING

·
Super Moderator
6,060 Posts