Chevy and GMC Duramax Diesel Forum banner

1 - 20 of 28 Posts

·
Registered
158 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Ok, My little brother has an 01 LB7 an blew a head gasket and his trans screwed up awhile back. So I am trying to help him out. I work for Pure Diesel Power and got him a head gasket set from Merchant Automotive, a set of ARP studs and a built transmission. I am starting the head gasket job this weekend. I am going to tear down a little bit of it tonight and come back in the morning and really hit it hard. I have many years of mechanical experience but have never had a Dmax apart. Are there any little tips or tricks you Dmax guru's could throw my way to help make this a smooth job? Thanks in advance for any and all help that is offered up!! :rockin

·
Registered
485 Posts
dont put studs in and then try and slide heads over, it wont happen u will hit firewall in back. slide studs into head then slide head into position and then you can thread studs. thats something i fought with and finally figured out.

·
Premium Member
2,267 Posts
take your time. and DONT over torque injector supply lines.

·
Registered
485 Posts
also take pics and label plugs so you have some reference if youve never done one before, then you will have something to look back on. trust me you will get to some points where ur like crap how did this go.

·
Registered
158 Posts
Discussion Starter #5
Thanks, I should have said I have done a few searches before I got the truck up here. But I kinda new about the head stud thing. I knew I couldn't put the studs in before the head was on. But I can set the head all the way down on the block before I put the studs in right? And I have put a set of injectors in an LB7 but it was in a 5500 Kodiak.. so they are a little different under the hood!!

·
Registered
485 Posts
as long as ur careful and dont hurt the gasket, make sure the gasket is lined up good youll be fine

·
Registered
158 Posts
Discussion Starter #7