Chevy and GMC Duramax Diesel Forum banner
  • Hey Everyone! Enter your ride HERE to be a part of this months Ride of the Month Challenge!

1 - 20 of 32 Posts

·
Registered
247 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hey everyone, I was wondering about everyones opinion about merchants high idle mod.

Merchant Automotive - High Idle Valet Switch

I have an 01 LB7 and I'd like High Idle. I'm not experienced with wiring and if there is a plug and play alternative that is this cheap, then I'd strongly consider it. I live in california so it doesnt get consistently cold, but I do like to idle my truck when I can. I heard it isnt great to let it idle at low rpms like 650 due to the seals in the engine.

Let me know what you think please!
Thanks

·
Registered
247 Posts
Discussion Starter · #2 ·
Also, if you guys could tell me how difficult it is to do the mod yourself and the costs involved I'd really appreciate it

·
Registered
247 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·

·
Registered
247 Posts
Discussion Starter · #6 ·
What he said. I bought 2 ECM pins from the dealer in case I messed one up. All of the parts you need are really cheap.
Ok, if you wouldnt mind helping me out some more. Should I buy from that site since it's pre crimped and ready to go? How many do i need? and how many should I buy? And I've read it's as easy as running the wire from the ecm to the green and white brake pedal wire. All your info helps I appreciate it guys!

·
Registered
165 Posts
Ok, if you wouldnt mind helping me out some more. Should I buy from that site since it's pre crimped and ready to go? How many do i need? and how many should I buy? And I've read it's as easy as running the wire from the ecm to the green and white brake pedal wire. All your info helps I appreciate it guys!