Chevy and GMC Duramax Diesel Forum banner

1 - 20 of 20 Posts

·
Premium Member
321 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Ok guys, y'all may have seen me in a few of the other threads asking all kinds of random questions, but hopefully y'all can help me again. I am new to diesels, I have decided on either a lly or lbz. I'm wanting to stay under $17.5k. I'm wanting a ccsb 4x4. I have found a few trucks that I'm interested in but don't really know which one would be better for my needs/wants. The truck will be used mainly for daily driving and occasionally pullin my crawler and sometimes a 60 hp tractor. I want to get goop mpg, and have plenty of power whenever I want it. Not goin to be doing any kind of sled pulling or drag racing. I would like to find a stock one and do exhaust, efi live, y'all know, the usual stuff. My questions are, 1. Which do y'all think would be better for me? 2. Does it really mater or how many miles it has? Personally I would like to stay under 175,000. Thanks in advance guys.

·
Registered
36 Posts
Can't go wrong with a LBZ, very good platform. Shouldnt have a problem finding one in your price range with 150kish miles or so.

·
Registered
1,743 Posts
I personally go with the LBZ, the LLY had overheating issues. My buddy in Austin, Tx had one for 8 mos and then traded it in for a Kia Forte.

·
Registered
1,938 Posts
Better chance t an LLY under 17.5K, but a high mileage LBZ might be available in an LS platform.

·
Premium Member
321 Posts
Discussion Starter #5
I guess I should have added another question...

3. Should I be scared of a lbz with around 175k miles or more?

·
Registered
229 Posts
I have 170K on my lbz. Keep it maintained and youll be fine. Ive had no problems (knock on wood) and I drive with a heavy right foot.

Sent from AutoGuide.com Free App

·
Premium Member
3,633 Posts
once tuned theres really no diffrence between the 2 except for the lbz has better rods and lly has better pistons

·
Registered
374 Posts