Chevy and GMC Duramax Diesel Forum banner

1 - 20 of 69 Posts

·
Registered
7 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Help out a newbie to the duramax world, i just sold my 01 7.3L superduty which is tough as nails but expensive to mod to even keep up with a stock Dmax, hence why i have jumped shiped to the GM camp. Can someone clear up the head gasket issues? I found a really nice non-oilpatch 2005 lly that I was probably going to buy this week but I'm having second thoughts since reading the threads for LLY head gasket problems. Should I be looking for an LBZ? Are the head gaskets issues only on the LLY? I will be putting the basic mods, exhaust, intake, gauges, tuner, just fun, no racing, just hauling sleds in the winter and pulling a camper in the summer. I'm not a newbie to a diesel engine(journeyman heavy duty mechanic), so please give some straight up advice.
thanks in advance.:drink

ps: great forum, lots of hardcore gearheads on here:thumbsup

·
Banned
17,251 Posts
Headgaskets can occue in every truck, but if you push the stock turbo hard enough a head can lift, but it's not very common. Slap a big charger making 50psi of boost and the heads will lift. BUT, a rod can bend before a headgasket blows too so...

If your planning on staying at or below 400rwhp all day everyday for the next 100k miles, I wouldnt be worried about your motor ;)

Never pay again for live sex! | Hot girls doing naughty stuff for free! | Chat for free!

·
Registered
506 Posts
and include a AFE turbo mouthpiece or lbz mouthpiece to your list of mods and that will help with any cooling issues

·
Registered
1,486 Posts
Can't go wrong with a LLY but if you can get your hands on a LBZ with a six speed you are that mutch better off. Also were did you hear about all these haed gasket issues? Thats news to me. Welcome to the forum also!!!

·
yep yep...
7,169 Posts