Chevy and GMC Duramax Diesel Forum banner
  • Hey Everyone! Enter your ride HERE to be a part of this months Ride of the Month Challenge!

1 - 20 of 84 Posts

·
Registered
64 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I got my first duramax (LLY) a few months ago and I am going to be changing the oil and fuel filter for the first time. What oil would you guys recommend. Also, I live in Wisconsin and with winter coming around would it be smart for me to use a 5w-40 instead for cold starts? (not always able to have it plugged in over night) And what oil filter and fuel filter would you recommend.

·
Registered
16,262 Posts
Lots & lots of post/threads on this matter. Search in this thread section.

·
Premium Member
104 Posts
I use Wix filters (fuel and oil). Love the new fuel filter design because it makes it a lot easier to change. even though it was not hard to begin with. finding a fuel filter band wrench to fit it was the tricky part. Being a farmer I always used john deere oil because we have it in bulk. But I read some good reviews on the Mobile delvac 1300 getting rid of the typewriter tick and it does. So that is all I use now, doesn't matter what time of year.

·
Vendor
10,974 Posts
As HD Dmax Machine pointed out there are hundreds if not thousands of threads on this very subject. Remember as you are reading that everyone has an opinion on "what's best" and conveys it here. Synthetics typically are better than dynos depending on the group level of the base stock used to make them. I would stay away from synthetic blends as these still have dyno oil in them.

My personal preference for several yrs now has been full synthetic AMSOIL fluids and their EaO oil filter for all my trucks. If I can answer any questions please don't hesitate to ask.

take care,

·
Registered
64 Posts
Discussion Starter · #8 ·