Chevy and GMC Duramax Diesel Forum banner

1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Anthing that generally goes wrong with these motors? I'm a mechanic and don't see a whole lot wrong with these. I know they are highly sought after due to last yr without emissions equipment on them. Anything I should look for? It has some rust and 164,000 miles. Any advice would be much helpful thanks!

·
Registered
289 Posts
I bought an 06 about 3 years ago and it had just over 180,000 miles when I bought it. Not sure where you're located but I'm in Texas so the weather hadn't affected the truck I bought as much as others. With that said I've still had rust cause problems. Recently replaced all the brake lines because one rusted thru where it was clipped in a plastic clip to the frame rail.

Other than that I've had to replace a lot of front end parts that were probably original and naturally worn out. Had to do front diff seals. Had to replace the water pump. Replaced upper control arm bushings because they were dry rotted. Replaced the transmission shift cable because it was dry rotted. Replaced steering gearbox due to excessive play. Replaced power steering pump.

As far as drive train wise as long as it's been taken care of you shouldn't have much to worry about. It's the other things that wear and can add up. So just try to look at suspension parts to see if they look original or see what service/maintenance records they have.

Hope this helps.

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
It has new upper and lower ball joints, ppe tie rod sleeves, stage 5 ppe trans, efi live, not sure about cp3 pump.

·
Registered
83 Posts
The LBZ does have parts with pattern failures, some are common to most Dmax motors pre L5p like the crankshaft, head gasket, cam pin, water pump, etc. The LBZ has a piston issue
https://youtu.be/7wYW_P3Rwi4
The transfer case and front differential are also a weak design.