Chevy and GMC Duramax Diesel Forum banner
  • Hey Everyone! Enter your ride HERE to be a part of this months Ride of the Month Challenge!
1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
1 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hey all...

I'm new to the forum, and soon to be new to Duramax ownership; but I have a few questions before I make the plunge.

My background is with Ford, so my knowledge of GM products is lacking. I had a 1993 Ford F-150 Super Cab 4x4 5.8L XLT until last week. With 252,000 miles on the gas engine, it owed me nothing. Still, with all those miles on a light duty chassis, I've decided to get something a little more robust for my next rig. I'm considering anything from a 2003 to about 2005 truck, though this is pretty much because of budget. I have about $25K to spend on this truck.

Does anyone have a preferred reference for the trim packages available on GM trucks? I would like to get a truck with the center console and steering wheel radio/information system controls; but don't know what trim package that falls into.

I'm also interested in the differences between engines. I read elsewhere here that the older engines had some injector problems. Also that idling is a concern, and not as easily achieved in the older engines. Any thoughts on extreme cold weather starting and idling? Up here in Fairbanks, Alaska, the temps can be -40's, but typically run -20 to -30. Given the extreme cold, it is not at all unusual to allow a vehicle to run for 20 to 30 minutes to allow the interior to warm. All vehicles are plugged-in in winter with most vehicles having several engine heating pads, plus a battery warmer. A few have transmission warmers as well. Any thoughts on lubrication at such low temperatures?

Are there any significant differences between the (automatic) transmissions by year? Besides the obvious, are there any reasons to get a 5 or 6 speed over the other?