Chevy and GMC Duramax Diesel Forum banner
  • Hey Everyone! Enter your ride HERE to be a part of this months Ride of the Month Challenge!
1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
221 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 · (Edited)
Ok, so here is my situation: I have one upper control arm that is very rusted and the the other isn’t far behind. The bushings are NON existent! I have never done a front on before but I’m not afraid to dive in. This what I have purchased so far and I’m hoping I can get some advice on what else I need and hopefully some directions on what order to remove things, tools needed etc. I have 2 - ctxms 20360 mevotech ttx upper control arms complete ( they look very nice definitely heavier duty than what’s on there now) ; 2- ttx lower ball joints ; 2sets of Moog greasable alignment cam plate kit with nut and bolt ; energy suspension sway bar end link and bushing kit.
I am questioning which lower control arm bushing I should get from Moog there seems to be two different ones, the “problem solver line” or I guess the standard line. The part numbers seem to be W0133-2346879 for the problem solver ones ( that’s forward and rear bushing) and k6658 for the standard ones? Anyone familiar ?
If I’m doing this much should I replace steering components too? Pit man idler and tie rods? If so what brand I was thinking of going with Rare parts for tie rods but staying with moog for the rest I don’t have deep pockets right now. I don’t do any 4 wheel drive launches but I do like to get on the go peddle.
Wood Automotive tire Automotive wheel system Gas Machine

Wood Pipeline transport Plumbing Gas Cylinder

·
Registered
12 Posts
Not sure of the parts you mentioned, but I have used the problem solver line from moog and its good stuff, how old are your wheel bearings? Since you have to remove them anyway it would be a good time to renew them, and if you have my luck, they have new speed sensors in them and you won't have to pull the brakes off again like I had to...

·
Registered