Chevy and GMC Duramax Diesel Forum banner

1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
9 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Ok, I have a 04.5 lly and am starting to see some signs of oil slowly leaking towards the front of my passenger headcover. It looks like it might be leaking from this black sensor deal and then I think it is then running down my headcover. I have a few pictures.

Can you tell me what this sensor is for and if any of you have had this happen before. I am new to this and hope it is an easy fix! Is there just a gasket or something I need to replace?

IMG_20130319_185120_533.jpg

IMG_20130319_185101_898.jpg

·
Registered
57 Posts
EGR solenoid? My advice, get rid of it.

·
Registered
9 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Do these EGR solenoid tend to start leaking sometimes, or is there something else that leaks around it. I think it is the EGR solenoid that looks like it had most the oil reminence around it.

·
Registered
2008 Silverado 2500HD
897 Posts
Thats just gunk buildup. Means it leaked at some point, but as long as its not wet and as long as you dont have a puddle under your truck, your fine.

·
Ask one to be one
5,660 Posts
The egr is not connected to an oil supply so there is no way its what is leaking.

·
Registered
9 Posts
Discussion Starter #7
The egr is not connected to an oil supply so there is no way its what is leaking.