Discussion Starter #1

·
Registered
486 Posts

Attachments

·
Registered
32 Posts
There have been some official and un official youtube videos on it now.

·
Registered
1,280 Posts
I'm surprised they don't offer the L5P (vs the detuned L5D) as an option on these trucks. If I was a fleet manager I'd probably order L5Ds for longevity and reduced maintenance, but if it was for personal use I'd definitely want the higher HP/torque tune of the L5P. They could also offer re-tuning at dealerships if the truck's use profile is going to change. Seems like obvious "value added" at negligible manufacturer cost.

·
Registered
32 Posts
I'm surprised they don't offer the L5P (vs the detuned L5D) as an option on these trucks. If I was a fleet manager I'd probably order L5Ds for longevity and reduced maintenance, but if it was for personal use I'd definitely want the higher HP/torque tune of the L5P. They could also offer re-tuning at dealerships if the truck's use profile is going to change. Seems like obvious "value added" at negligible manufacturer cost.
I won't say that I have read everything / watched every youtube video on this, but I have searched on what I can find.

It appears that the turbo on the L5D and some tuning are the largest differences - at least to me.

My perception is that the L5D setup is more focused on providing more torque "off the line" and at lower rpms vs. the L5P has more torque at higher rpms. It sort of makes sense - imagine a truck with these higher GVWRs (example a cement truck or heavy duty tow truck). They aren't going to go 90 mph up a hill, but definitely need as much torque as possible at a stop light.

·
Registered
32 Posts
I signed up on the chevy web site for more information as it becomes available. (as a business)

I did receive one email basically asking how many my business needed ( under 50, something like 50 - 100, 100 - 500, etc)

I answered - "under 50".