Chevy and GMC Duramax Diesel Forum banner
  • Hey Everyone! Enter your ride HERE to be a part of this months Ride of the Month Challenge!

1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hey guys, new to the forum and and to diesels. Bought 05 3500 last Dec. and so far, I am 50/50 on liking it and absolutely hating it. I enjoy the quietness of the duramax and also the overall comfort level and appearance of the truck, all the reasons I choose Chevy in the first place. It's all the little things that bother the hell out of me. I thought I did my research on common problems with the truck, but turns out I'm not very good with research, lol.

First, I got a speeding ticket in Ohio because the the stupid speedo said I was going 70 yet I was really going 84. Verified with friend, driving side by side, and also verified on gps. I know there is some error involved in each instrument but not 14 mph. It also gets worse as the speed increases. 90mph(actual speed) is right around 73-74 on speedo. It is only accurate up to about 25mph. So I do my research on the interweb and find the "big" stepper motor problem with these trucks. No big deal, found a nice dealer here in WA. They explain a bit to me and recommended taking to local speedometer shop to get stepper motors replaced. Price is only $100 and something so I do it. Didn't fix the problem. Speedo is off exactly the same amounts. Could it be a speed sensor problem? Guy at dealer was convinced it wasn't. To answer your question before you ask, NO I did not put bigger tires on. LT265/75R16, just like it says on door jam.