Chevy and GMC Duramax Diesel Forum banner

1 - 20 of 21 Posts

·
Registered
107 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hey guys im new to the whole chevrolet thing I have always driven a dodge with a manual tranny. I just bought a 06 crewcab 4x4 dually LBZ. What are yall doing with your tranny when your running loads? Put it in drive? Or in drive with tow haul mode? Or shifting it manually? I dont pull real big loads I would say I average between 4500 - 9000 lbs on a regular basis? :help

·
Premium Member
9,706 Posts
just put it in drive, hit the tow/haul button and forget about it :) Pretty simple. The tranny will take care of itself. It'll downshift for you to assist with slowing down, and raise the shift points while accelerating and everything. You'll be good to go.

·
Registered
107 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
OK I have always driven a 6 speed but thats because the automatics in dodge suck I had one for about 6 months and hated it so much I took a hit and traded it in. I have heard nothing but great things about the allison hopefully it will be good to me.

·
Premium Member
297 Posts
Put it in drive, hit tow/haul and forget about it.

·
Registered
2,480 Posts
Welcome to the DF

Enjoy the new truck

·
Registered
275 Posts
Welcome to DF. Yeah like they said, drive in tow/haul. Had 07 CTD Auto and now this. Allison makes a big difference.

·
Registered
1 Posts
can't slow down

i also have mostly droven a dodge manual and today i was ready to shoot my allician trany. if things don't change i will have to replace my brakes very often. would like to get any help on tricks to use the trany before i have to go back to a dodge.i am in tow haul mode and it doesn't help slow me down much.:help

·
Registered
760 Posts